top of page

Poet Spotlight: Armand

This poem is inspired by the article "Issue Overview: Racial profiling" found at newsela.com.

Racial Profiling

Ever since, racial profiling has been a problem

Under Stop-and-Frisk police stops have increased

Unarmed Black and Hispanic men were killed when police shot'em

Now we all have to realize and see

No matter what race we are

You can't accuse a certain person doing a certain crime

Nor can you take my humanity away because you have a squad car

Because we fought for these rights from time to time to time

And to just throw them away

Would be like taking our civil rights

And recruiting the kkk

Human rights will have to stay BRIGHT

Don't think a Black person is going to shoot up a place

Or a Muslim is going to get people alarmed

Because of their skin color or because of their race

They're just people who mean no harm

So just stop and see

And let the good people be

Author's explanation

In my poem "Racial Profiling" I used a modified sonnet structure. I used many of the sound devices. The sound devices I used were assonance and rhyme. I used rhyme because it was a sonnet, which has rhyme schemes and I used assonance to make a pleasant sound. The reason I capitalized the word "BRIGHT" is because I wanted to emphasize that human rights will always be important. I also made the word "kkk" lowercase because we don't want that hate group to come back hating or show that they are welcomed. One last thing I did was to capitalize "Black" because I believe that every person is equal.


RECENT POST
bottom of page